Home > Business Intelligence > First Teaching of the Advanced MDX Course

First Teaching of the Advanced MDX Course

I just finished teaching the Advanced MDX Course for the first time! After starting to write the course over a year ago, it was great to have it finally become a reality. We had an excellent group of five students. It was a very full two days going over all the material, discussing it with the students, and doing the labs. Two days was not long enough, but I hope it was two days that will be of benefit to each of the participants. Many thanks to Glasspaper in Oslo for hosting the course.

I think I will be teaching both the 2-day Business Logic for MDX course and the 2-day Advanced MDX course three times in the coming months, though the dates are not all set. But I expect I will be teaching the courses both in Minnesota and California in May, and then back in Oslo in June. I will post the dates on this blog as they get confirmed.

 

 

Categories: Business Intelligence
  1. March 11, 2013 at 7:13 am

    Thanks a lot for teaching the course, it was very interesting, and I look forward to apply what I’ve learned. My only disappointment was really Analysis Services, which seems to have quite a few areas of improvement. More specifically, the query optimizer and performance tuning capabilities.

    • April 5, 2013 at 6:55 pm

      Thanks! I had a good time teaching the course. I’m a big fan of Analysis Services multidimensional and the power of the MDX language. I hope Microsoft will keep investing the money to make it better and more scalable. (How about multi-threading in the formula engine?) I hope companies will keep the pressure on Microsoft to bring Analysis Services multidimensional and MDX to its full potential.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

